Growing up in a community where ideologies are fixated on a culture of “what will people say?” has pushed me further towards wanting to break free and somewhat rebel against what is expected of a girl and pursue something that will actually help me transform into a woman that is independent, strong, caring and most of all be kind despite all the adversities and heartbreak this world contains. What is it that has kept me grounded and focused towards my goals? The answer is simple. Boxing.

You may be curious, surprised or even feel like you know where this is heading… Sure we all know boxing is a sport- a combat sport to be specific, deemed as violent or dangerous by most but these ideas seem to be evolving everyday as many female Muslim women stand to pursue such a sport.

So moving on, how can a “violent” sport bring out the kindness within me? How twisted must this  sound?! Boxing has changed me in ways I never thought it could. Even though it goes against the norms of society, I have no regrets and I can say it is by far the best thing I have done for myself. 

So on with the reflections: These are lessons from boxing…

  1. Don’t listen to what others have to say- People can discourage you in many ways whether it be with your hobbies, a new business venture, your choice of education, the list is endless. At the end of the day it’s your life and you know you best so as long as your choices don’t hurt anyone, pursue your dreams and live your life to the fullest. 
  2. Don’t be afraid to step out of your comfort zone- Boxing’s taught me that even though at times I may be the only girl in the room, I should be confident in my abilities to be amongst the best. Stepping out of your comfort zone will enable you to discover how strong you really are and that you are capable of so much more. 
  3. Try your hardest- Train hard. Have breaks when you need to. But don’t give up. Keep trying even when it hurts. Remember your only competition is the person staring at you when you look in the mirror. Each loss you my face just means the comeback will be stronger! 
  4. You don’t need to prove yourself to anyone but yourself-  When I first started training, I felt the need to prove to the guys that I could do it to. That I won’t just do a few sessions here and there and disappear. Consistency was key. But I soon realised that they didn’t really care and it was me who was self critiquing. I had to prove to myself alone that I could do it. 
  5.  Discipline-  be consistent and be punctual with your timings. Listen to your coach and advisors. You may not agree with them all the time but be polite when explaining your differences so that perhaps you may come to a compromise. This can be useful for school, homelife etc. 
  6. Respect- As with all sports, respect is extremely  important whether it be your teammates, the opposition, the fans and most of all yourself. This will bring forth self satisfaction and allow you to keep your intentions pure.  Use this tool is your daily life too. 
  7. Don’t be scared- Fear Allah alone and you will be unstoppable!

Im sure there are so many more things to learn but these are just a few things I’ve picked up on and reflected upon over the years whilst training. Even from this I can say each day is a new opportunity to grow and above all be a better human. Boxing has taught me that when people from all feats of life come together with common goals in mind, worlds can change.

Leave a comment

Trending

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started